This preview has expired. See all the latest Betting sites

IPL Winner Betting Odds - Time for a new champion or the return of old favourites?

20 Mar 2023
Sridhar Bhamidi 20 Mar 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • Gujarat Titans are the reigning IPL champions
  • Will they defend their title in the 2023 edition?
  • Get the latest IPL Winner betting odds
IPL 2023 Betting Odds
Will there be a return to winning ways for Mumbai or Chennai? (Getty Images)

IPL Winner Betting Odds – Who will be the champions in 2023

One of the biggest T20 franchise tournament will be back in action as the Indian Premier League (IPL) 16th edition will be played in India. The home and away format is back and this tournament will be played from March 31 to May 28, with the final slated to be held in Ahmedabad.

The ten teams have been divided into two groups. The Group A will see five-time champions Mumbai Indians, two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders, the inaugural edition winner Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Super Giants. The Group B will see four-time champions Chennai Super Kings, three-time runners-up Royal Challengers Bangalore, defending champions Gujarat Titans, 2014 season runner-up Punjab kings, and 2016 winners Sunrisers Hyderabad come face to face.

Each team will play the other five teams of the other group twice and the other four from their own group once. This makes it 14 league matches per team in the IPL16 edition. The league phase will be played over 52 days across 12 cities for 70 matches.

As the tournament comes back to its original home and away format, there is so much excitement among the fans. The entire tournament was played across four venues last season – Mumbai & Pune hosting the entire league phase, the playoffs & final played at Ahmedabad and Kolkata. Last season saw debutants Gujarat Titans win the title under Hardik Pandya’s captaincy beating Rajasthan Royals in the final in Ahmedabad.

What about this season? After tasting a win in their inaugural season, the Giants will be gunning for a second title while the other regular big teams like Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians would be keen to restore status quo.

Bookmaker bet365 have made defending champions Gujarat Titans the favourites to win a second successive title at odds of 6.50. With a strong assembled unit, Delhi Capitals are backed at odds of 7.00 to break their title drought. Mumbai Indians have finished last in the previous season and are facing some injury issues but are next best favourites at odds of 7.50.

Steady merchants Rajasthan Royals are also offered at odds of 7.50 to win their second title and only the first since the inaugural season. Not surprisingly, Royal Challengers Bangalore are tied at the same position with odds of 7.50 to win their first title. Last season’s second debutants Lucknow Supergiants are next in line of favourites with odds of 8.50.

Punjab Kings and Chennai Super Kings are the next teams in the favourites ladder with odds of 10.00 each. Making up the rear of the favourites list are Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad at odds of 11.00 each.

The odds market is just a reflection of how good the teams are going to stack up. Will Gujarat Titans continue their surprise start to their IPL career and win a second title in a row? Or, will the likes of Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians try to restore normalcy? And then there’s the perennial underachievers Royal Challengers Bangalore looking to surprise the analysts. Who will end up as IPL 16 winners come May 28?

2023 IPL Winner Betting Odds

Gujarat Titans6.50
Delhi Capitals7.00
Mumbai Indians7.50
Rajasthan Royals7.50
Royal Challengers Bangalore7.50
Lucknow Super Giants8.50
Punjab Kings10.00
Chennai Super Kings10.00
Kolkata Knight Riders11.00
Sunrisers Hyderabad11.00

Note: Odds from bet365 and are correct as on 20/3/2023