• Home
  • News

Mumbai Indians claim fifth Indian Premier League title

  • Mumbai Indians win the 2020 IPL title
  • They beat Delhi Capitals in the final by five wickets
  • The victory makes Mumbai the most successful team in IPL
  • Mumbai were also crowned champions in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019
mumbai indians rohit
Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma (Getty Images)

Mumbai Indians claimed a record fifth Indian Premier League title when defeating Delhi Capitals in the final in Dubai.

It was a captain's knock from Rohit Sharma that got Mumbai home in the final, his 68 helping the Indians chase down 157 with eight balls remaining.

The victory makes Mumbai the most successful team in IPL history having also been crowned champions in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019.

In the final in Dubai, it was a perfect start for the eventual champions as New Zealand quick Trent Boult dismissed Australia's Marcus Stoinis with the first ball of the match on his way to figures of 3-30.

It was a horror start for Delhi, who found themselves 22-3 early in their innings. Captain Shreyas Iyer's 65 not out help the Capitals set a total.

It never looked enough, however, when Rohit and Quinton de Kock smashed 45 from the opening four over.

When Sharma was dismissed with 20 still needed from 23 balls, the game was in the bag with Ishan Kishan's 33 not out off 19 balls helping seal the win.

"I'm pretty happy with how things went," said Mumbai Indians captain Rohit. "We said at the beginning we want to make winning a habit for us and guys were excellent throughout the tournament. We couldn't have asked much more. We never looked back."

It was disppointment for Delhi in what was their first appearance in an IPL final as they once again lost to Mumbai.

Delhi Capitals head coach Ricky Ponting added: "You've got to give credit where credit's due. Mumbai have been the best team throughout the IPL. I am proud of this team. It is a great group of players and a great franchise. Mumbai Indians thoroughly deserved their win."


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

16 April 2021

  • Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings - Twenty20
  • -
  • Cricket

17 April 2021

  • Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad - Twenty20
  • -
  • Cricket

01 October 2021

  • T20 World Cup
  • -
  • Cricket